Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Cat specs for a macbookpro

Cat specs for a macbookpro

Hi,
    working with mediaservers (except catalyst) for a couple of year, I think seriously to buy a catalyst software and run it on a Macbook pro to be able to provide a video service for local gigs. But as I'm a newbie with both mac and cat environment, I'm lookink for tips and answers about macbook specs ,and what would be the performances and the limits of the catatlyst with a macbook pro . I know that the limit would depend of the specs but as I said I look for tips.
    I plan to buy a 15,4 inches mac with a 2,4ghz intel i7. First question, is Lion really inconsistent with Cat ?
    Do I have to a get a Pro version cat or just a DV is enough ?
    I'm aware that I won't be able able to feed 10 projectors with a laptop but is a soft edge blending with 2 projectors is doable. Can I use HD contents, how many layers can I play at the same time without latency problems ?
    A matrox dual-head would be a good feature ?
    It's a bit a confused bunch of questions but you know ...
    Thanx for all your answers

First off make sure you get the model with the discreet ati gpu...6770 I believe... Also consider removing the optical drive and placing an ssd in its place for content playback. Hd is possible but I will not speak to how many layers other than to say more than 2 is possible with the correct hardware in my experience. Also... you CAN run Snow Leopard on one after jumping through some hoops. This has been my route and is working very well. You will need to compile or obtian a 10.6.8 image as it was never offered on a retail disk.

Hi,
    thanx for your answer. As the ssd are sitll expensive can I use one extra ssd drive for the system and run the cat, and one optical for the data ?
    Thanx

Hey Niko,