Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Video playback with Audio. Sync error?

Question Video playback with Audio. Sync error?

Hi, I am new to using catalyst with audio. Got a show coming up in four weeks time and using catalyst to playback audio and video triggered from MagicQ PC.

I was advised to play the audio back on a new layer and ether use sync id or trigger both the layers at the same time.

In testing today i found that:
    Triggering the layers together made the video out of sync with the audio by the time the clip completed (only about 12frames, but noticeable).
    -
    Syncing the layers by id kept the video and audio in sync but the layers hud had some funny jumping going on. I dont think this upset the video performance.

Videos of 'jumping'
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=R7skttA_AgA
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8vylwZCvBCc
    -
    Finally!
    Playing the video with audio mode 70 again kept both video and audio in sync. I did however loose the FPS reading on the layer window.

Please could you advise me on the best option to playback video and audio using catalyst.

Video files are 820x1024 AIC 25FPS. Audio: Linear PCM 48Hz, 16-Bit.
    Edited in FCP and exported using QT.

Catalyst server:
    OSX 10.6.6 / 4.40_m329 / DV dongle
    MacPro 4,1 2.26 8 Core / 6GB / ATI HD 4870 / OCZ-Vertex SSD (playback)

Thank you for helping!!
    P

Dont know who advised playback separately - but using playmode 70-76 onwards is probably the simplest way of playing a movie with audio.

The FPS counter will disappear, because catalyst prioritises audio playback when using these playmodes (70-76) - i.e. it plays back at the same frame rate as the clip with audio was encoded - no matter what your system frame rate is set to. This is to ensure that the audio playback is flawless and sounds like it was intended.

So the best way to playback audio with a video file is to encode both together as one movie (eg AIC codec) and use playmode 70-76