Results 1 to 10 of 10

Thread: Need help with a fixture please

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Garden, FL USA
    Posts
    77

    Need help with a fixture please

    Hello everyone, I am in desperate need of help with a fixture for Pixelmad. I have a chance to demo the Catalyst / Pixelmad on a big wall of LED pars. They are currently just running them from the Grand MA but I have a very good chance to put a Catalyst on the job if I can dazzle them. Heres the problem though, they are running these LED pars in full 9 channel mode. That mode has RGBW plus strobe and other functions. Is it possible to get a profile for it that would work with it in that mode? Otherwise I would have to change the modes on about 300 of these LED pars. Heres the info on them....

    Elation ELAR LED Par
    Channels...
    1-Red
    2-Green
    3-Blue
    4-White
    5-Color Temp
    6-Color Macros
    7-Internal Programs
    8-Strobe
    9-General Dimming / Speed

    The website for this fixture is.... http://www.elationlighting.com/Produ...LED%20Lighting

    Thanks in advance for any help, I apologize for not knowing how to make a fixture in Catalyst. Matt

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    Matt

    Try this:

    <Fixture menuname="ELAR LED Par 9ch" uniqueid="ELA9" excelexportid="ELA9" pixelwidth="1" pixelheight="1" output="CUSTOM" comment="ELAR LED Par 9ch" channelcount="9" channelsperpixel="9" orientation="TOPLEFT">
    <channel index="1" output="RED" />
    <channel index="2" output="GREEN" />
    <channel index="3" output="BLUE" />
    <channel index="4" fixedoutput="0" comment="White"/>
    <channel index="5" fixedoutput="0" comment="Colour Temperature"/>
    <channel index="6" fixedoutput="0" comment="Rainbow"/>
    <channel index="7" fixedoutput="0" comment="Auto Program"/>
    <channel index="8" fixedoutput="255" comment="Strobe"/>
    <channel index="9" fixedoutput="255" comment="Dimmer"/>
    </Fixture>

    INSTRUCTIONS: (also see screenshot)
    1) Right click on your catalyst aplication and 'Show Package Contents'
    2) navigate to: Content / Resources / FixtureTypes.xml
    3) Open the FixtureTypes.xml in text edit
    4) Paste the code above in to the bottom of the file after the last fixture, but before </FixtureTypes>
    5) save FixtureTypes.xml
    6) close the finder window
    7) start catalyst

    The new fixture: ELAR LED Par 9ch should appear in the fixtures list.

    According to the manual - Strobe should be at 100% (255) to get an output
    Dimmer is also set to 100% (255)
    I've defaulted the white LED to zero as there is no control channel for this...
    The other channels are set to 0

    You can use the basis of this to create other fixtures - just ensure the names are unique.

    Do Let me know if this works or if you need any further assistance

    regards

    Simon
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Winter Garden, FL USA
    Posts
    77
    This is exactly what I was needing, thank you so much Simon!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    Whats the layout of your 300 fixtures?

    You may want to use an excel spreadsheet and some formulas to make it quicker to layout and patch your fixtures. Then import the data in to pixelmad...

    S
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  5. #5

    sunstrip pro RGB

    Hi Simon,

    Yeah - trying the way you mentioned to create fixtures....

    i need to create a library for the SUNSTRIP PRO RGB.

    There is some control channels at the start - then 36x RGB tri cells.

    I build it as 36 cells... and i can get artnet to work - but the DMX output map says all the channels are outputting even when I leave a gap in the patch (for the control channels).

    I build it as per the instructions... and I get no dmx/artnet activity. Like there is something faulty with the fixture library.

    Oh dear.

    Any thoughts?

    Kindest Regards,

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    Hmmm...

    Having trouble with this one because it has 3 control channels at the start... and is a 36 pixel device.

    I can create a 36 pixel device - but you may have have a separate 3 channel device to fix the control channels and patch each separately...
    ie
    3 conrtol
    36 pixels
    3 control
    36 pixels...
    etc..

    Need help from Richard on this one... can't make it work in one fixture at the moment...

    Will get back to you

    Simon
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    Try This:

    <Fixture menuname="Sunstrip PRO 36" uniqueid="SUN36" excelexportid="SUN36" pixelwidth="36" pixelheight="1" output="RGB" comment="Sunstrip PRO RGB 36LED" channelcount="108" orientation="TOPLEFT">
    </Fixture>

    <Fixture menuname="Sunstrip Control" uniqueid="SUNC" excelexportid="SUNC" pixelwidth="1" pixelheight="1" output="CUSTOM" comment="Sunstrip PRO RGB Control" channelcount="3" orientation="TOPLEFT">
    <channel index="1" fixedoutput="128" comment="Tilt - set to ZERO if HTP merge with Lx Desk"/>
    <channel index="2" fixedoutput="255" comment="Strobe - set to ZERO if HTP merge with Lx Desk"/>
    <channel index="3" fixedoutput="255" comment="Dimmer - set to ZERO if HTP merge with Lx Desk"/>
    </Fixture>

    INSTRUCTIONS:
    1) Right click on your catalyst aplication and 'Show Package Contents'
    2) navigate to: Content / Resources / FixtureTypes.xml
    3) Open the FixtureTypes.xml in text edit
    4) Paste the code above in to the bottom of the file after the last fixture, but before </FixtureTypes>
    5) save FixtureTypes.xml
    6) close the finder window
    7) start catalyst

    The new fixture: Sunstrip PRO 36 and Sunstrip Control should appear in the fixtures list.

    According to the manual - Strobe should be at 100% (255) to get an output
    Dimmer is also set to 100% (255)
    I've defaulted the TILT to 50% (128) as there is no control channel for this...

    You will have to patch the control first, then 36 pixels and so on...

    DMX PATCH: (see picture)

    001 Sunstrip Control
    004 Sunstrip PRO 36
    112 Sunstrip Control
    115 Sunstrip PRO 36
    223 Sunstrip Control
    226 Sunstrip PRO 36
    etc...

    However, if you want to merge the patch with an lx desk to obtain control of the intensity / strobe / tilt - then don't patch the control channel in catalyst.
    You would have to perform an HTP of the two controllers with the opposite patch on an lx desk - ie all control channels 001, 112, 223 etc leaving the 36 pixels at zero (un-patched) on the lx desk.

    Do Let me know if this works or if you need any further assistance

    regards

    Simon
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  8. #8
    Hi Simon,

    Thanks for that.... seems like it will do the trick. (there is actually 4 control channels on the v4 sunstrip pros - there's a reset channel on #2). I just added in, and the DMX map seems like it should work fine.


    Thanks again...

    Matt Downs.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    Glad it worked - didn't see that in the manual - are there 2 different versions?

    can you post a link to the manual. Are strobe and dimmer then 3 & 4?

    S
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  10. #10

    SUNSTRIP PRO RGB - fixture library

    Hi Simon,

    Sorry for delay...

    Please find attached the V4 manual for the SHOWTEC sunstrip PRO RGB fixture.

    Talk soon..

    Kindest Regards,

    MattDowns@SWS.
    Attached Files Attached Files

Similar Threads

  1. Led fixture
    By wodie in forum Catalyst Feature requests
    Replies: 15
    Last Post: 08-05-2009, 01:39 PM
  2. new fixture xml
    By David Monguet in forum Catalyst Feature requests
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 20-04-2009, 03:48 PM
  3. pixel mapped Fixture Controller as regular fixture profile
    By Mick Murray in forum Catalyst Feature requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-06-2008, 11:54 PM
  4. Cat V4 Fixture
    By Mauricio Caicedo in forum Catalyst Feature requests
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-11-2006, 05:24 PM
  5. DMX not enabled for fixture 1
    By RobF in forum Software support
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 17-03-2005, 11:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •