Results 1 to 7 of 7

Thread: AppleScript control of cuelist

  1. #1

    AppleScript control of cuelist

    Hi all,

    I'm programming a show next week (single mac pro, THTG, 2 outputs, preset control) and the designer has asked whether it's possible to do the following:

    cue 6 is a 10 second movie looping on layer 3

    cue 7 is a new movie on layer 4, which when triggered will only run when the movie in cue 6 has completed (reached frame 250)

    I.e. Delaying the running of a cue until a specifit point in the previous movie (if that makes any sense)

    I can't figure a way of doing it in the preset itself but is there a way of scripting this sort of thing or does catalyst not allow such detailed control/monitoring of specific aspects of the layer?

    Thanks in advance for any suggestions

    Huw

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    very simple if you use a cuelist

    set cuelist to internal or relative or timecode (as appropriate)

    Program a preset for 'Cue 6' (looping movie layer 3)

    Program a preset for 'cue 7' (new movie layer 4)

    Put 'cue 7' preset in cuelist to trigger 250frames after cue 6

    There is no 'triggering' feedback from layers - you must use a cuelist to automate as required

    Any queries - do get back to me

    Simon
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  3. #3
    Hi Simon,

    thanks for replying so quickly. Sorry, I didn't explain correctly:

    cue 6 will loop for an undetermined amount of time, say 5 minutes of looping a 10 second movie. then cue 7 will be triggered 5 minutes and 5 seconds into the loop sequence but I don't want cue 7 to actually start playing until the 10 second loop in cue 6 has completed I.e. At 5m10s ( but this time won't be definite, just an example in this instance)

    Huw

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    Its not possible natively...

    you can only do it as described by working with definitive values. There is no mechanism for a layer to signal when it is complete, to then trigger another event.

    However, you could do it with a cuelist...

    Check back in a bit...

    Simon
    Last edited by Mr_P; 20-11-2009 at 10:30 PM.
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Oct 2004
    Location
    UK - Milton Keynes
    Posts
    807
    Solved...

    Create preset(6) for 'cue6' 10s PlayLoopFW>0. (folder 001 file 001)
    **HOWEVER make your content with 2 extra frames ie 252 frames.**
    Set outframe to 250frames (10s)

    Create a preset(8) for 'cue7' as normal (folder 001 file 002)

    Create a preset(7) to change L3 outframe to 0 and playmode to PlayOnceFW>0 (just these 2 parameters)
    (this is the trigger)

    Create a cuelist using Layer3 as timecode source
    Create Cue1 as 'PLAY' with command PresetToCuelist=6 - this enables the cuelist
    Create Cue 2 as 'Preset 7' - this plays preset 8 (cue 7)
    -set the time for this cue to 10s (250f) or 1 frame after the loop point
    optional:
    create Cue 3 fade 'layer 3' - (if required)

    works like a dream!!...

    The key to this is to add 2 frames on to the looping movie BUT to set the outframe to the actual desired loop time (250f)
    So it the loop never reaches the end of the movie and the resulting timecode to trigger the next cue
    Once 'cue 7 trigger' is triggered L3 plays to the end of the movie (+2f) and triggers the next cue 7

    If you need a good x-fade - then extend the clips further and adjust the trigger timecode to compensate.

    This all assumes 25fps - adjust for 30fps as necessary

    See ZIP file with catalyst show (programmed on m257)

    Content used:
    Lib 001
    File 001 - Loop 252 frames (loops at 250)
    File 002 - another movie

    Show & Content can be downloaded from:
    http://homepage.mac.com/WebObjects/F...eSharing6.html


    Do call if you need some more assistance

    Simon
    Attached Images Attached Images
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Mr_P; 21-11-2009 at 12:54 PM.
    Simon Pugsley

    SNP Productions Ltd. (UK)
    Lighting & Video Control Solutions
    Catalyst|Sales|Hire|Training|Support
    Catalyst Dealer UK Europe & Worldwide...

    Office: +44 (0)1908 410129
    Mobile: +44 (0)7958 390034
    simon@snp-productions.co.uk
    www.snp-productions.co.uk

  6. #6
    It does indeed work like a dream!

    Thanks simon, that's great.

    Much appreciated,

    Huw

  7. #7
    Quote Originally Posted by Mr_P View Post
    Solved...
    NICE!!
    SourceChild
    TODD SCRUTCHFIELD

    ...if it ain't broke...
    gimme 5 and then don't act surprised

Similar Threads

  1. transport control
    By kiwi in forum Catalyst Feature requests
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-11-2009, 06:06 PM
  2. video switcher control via catalyst
    By Johnny in forum Catalyst Technology questions
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 22-09-2008, 08:15 PM
  3. Could Pixelmad control up to 60 Universes of DMX?
    By OlliR in forum Technology questions
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 07-02-2008, 08:52 AM
  4. DVD Player Control
    By Woodj32177 in forum Catalyst Technical support
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 15-09-2007, 03:01 PM
  5. SAMSC control of Christie Roadie 25k projector.
    By meetmeatthemonkeybars in forum Technology questions
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 29-04-2005, 03:17 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •