PDA

View Full Version : Catalyst/PixelMAD question

efxmaster
06-06-2010, 08:21 PM
So I have been using my Catalyst for over 3 years now with no problems at all. I recently bought some Acclaim Pixel Tubes. After looking at the forums and reading about PixelMAD, i decided to just map out these tubes in Catalyst and use it to run them. Nothing major. Each tube is 30 pixels and I have 24 tubes. I got with the tubes an artnet to DMX box from Acclaim also.

So put it all together and tested everything in the shop. At first I noticed that if I stopped a video or faded it to black the tubes would freeze. I figured that this was because at 0 there was no information being sent over Artnet and the tubes did not know what to do. I downloaded the newest version of Catalyst and found an option to have a continuous artnet stream. So I turned that on, and it seemed to fix the problem.

Once I got everything all setup at the show another problem came about. I would play a video file, and then at random times, never the same, and totally out of the blue, the video would freeze. I thought maybe the Catalyst was having a problem, but then I went back to it, and the video on the monitor was still going. It is as if the Catalyst stopped outputting DMX. I don't know what to do about this, but if I switched to a different video, it would start up again. Using a Hog III console.

Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks for the help.

Mr_P
07-06-2010, 03:05 AM
sounds like a network issue?
are you using both Mac NIC's or just one port?
what else do you have on the artnet network (consoles etc)
Are the DMX values moving on the Artnet HUD?
what type of switch / hub are you using? does it support broadcast? - try switching to unicast.

Can you send a screen grab of the artnet HUD's

Simon

efxmaster
07-06-2010, 06:05 AM