samsc
16-03-2004, 07:44 PM
http://www.artisticlicence.com/

artnet products

http://www.artisticlicence.com/cat3_1.htm

rekveld
27-04-2004, 02:05 AM
Hi,
not sure this is the right forum to ask, but there seems to be some activity around here, the artistic license forums are not so active it seems...

I have a very very very basic question about the ArtNet protocol:

I'm investigating the possibillity to programmatically control lights over ethernet using an artNet to dmx interface. I am new to dmx as well as artNet, so forgive this question:

in the ArtDmx specs I don't explicitly find the structure of the dmx data, I guess this is so straigthforward for all you dmx wizards that it seems ridiculous to explain ?

in my naivety I see two options-

option1:
it is a sequential list of dmx values, length 10 means values for the first 10 channels, length 300 means values for the first 300 channels, every value is one int8 in size

option2:
it is a list of channel - value combinations, like 100 20 101 20 102 20 would set channels 100-102 to value 20 but here I would not understand what the size of each 'field' would have to be.. since 512 doesn't fit in an int8..

thanks for your patience,

Joost.

rekveld at lumen dot nu

samsc
03-05-2004, 06:28 PM
Hi,

option1:
it is a sequential list of dmx values, length 10 means values for the first 10 channels, length 300 means values for the first 300 channels, every value is one int8 in size

rekveld at lumen dot nu

dmx data doesnt really have any 'structure'.

its extraordinarily simple. its not really what one understands by a protocol

option 1 is the way i use this.

rekveld
09-06-2004, 01:30 AM
Thanks for the reply to my previous question, it made it possible for me to make some Max patches to control ArtNet and program the stuff I wanted to do. I'm was working on a project to control multiled tiles from Max/Jitter on a Mac.