PDA

View Full Version : macbook pro

Jerome
23-05-2008, 03:56 PM
Hello,

I am using a macbook pro with SAMSC d38.
The machine froze 2 times during a show.
It's not a problem with SAMSC as I had the problem with other softs (live and Mplayer).
So, be carefull using macintel based computers.
I don't know if the problem is hardware or software, the only thing I can say: I am tired with apple.

My computer: macbook pro core duo 2,16 Mhz memory: 1 Go
OS 10.5.2

regards.

Jerome.

Peter
23-05-2008, 06:19 PM
Perhaps you should downgrade to tiger. I have no problems. I once used the cuelist in catalyst to send msc and midi program changes to logicpro, arkaos and midi over ethernet to a G4 all at the same time.

I use the higher model 2,33 - 2Gb ram - 256 vram.

SourceChild
04-06-2008, 10:14 AM
Jerome,

Please let me tell you something.

I am a lighting and video programmer but I started out in high school as a hacker. Sadly though I took the windows route and didn't spend as much time with UNIX and Linux as I probably should have.

I have an MCSE, MSDB, and MSOE from Microsoft. I also have a CCNP, CCNA, and a CCIE from Cisco.

I never used Macs until about 2 years ago when I bought 2 as Catalyst machines. Still though I only used them to run Catalyst. It was only in the past year when I really got into using my Mac for other things.

As an animator I was doing 3ds Max and AutoCAD (which only run on PC). I also used MS Project and OneNote (not to mention a whole array of other PC apps).

I started learning Maya, already knew all the Adobe crap. When I used the on a Mac the first time I was shocked! I sat down in front of Cinema 4D and was instantly hooked.

Having the two Macs, I installed bootcamp images of XP so I could use them as render machines for a project I was working on. My $5000 Mac pro was actually faster running XP than my $9000 Boxxtech PC. Oh and XP didn't crash on the Mac Pro.