PDA

View Full Version : Transparency of images.

ljb2of3
05-11-2007, 11:25 PM
Hello all, I'm new to catalyst, and am wondering how to achieve transparency on a layer, to show the layer behind.

For example, one of my cues calls for a city scape image with clouds rolling behind it. I'm putting my clouds movie on layer one, and my city scape on layer two. At the moment, I have a black background everywhere I want to have clouds show through. Unfortunately, there are a lot of dark spots in the city image, so I end up seeing clouds all over the place when I use transparent black. White has the same issue.

Is is possible to use some other color, such as bright pink, and key it out? Or, to use the transparency (alpha) of an image to cut out parts of the image? We are using photoshop to create our images, so I can save in just about any format.

Thanks!

-Landy

tharding
05-11-2007, 11:40 PM
For Still images save in PNG.

Cheers

Toby

ljb2of3
06-11-2007, 01:30 AM
Ok, I'll give the PNG a shot tomorrow, just for reference, is this also possible with movies?

Thanks,
Landy

tharding
06-11-2007, 05:00 AM
You can use the Animation Codec set at Million+ colours. This allows an alpha channel. However it is very processor intensive and can restrict what you can play back smoothly.

There is now a basic Chroma Key style colour effect built into the software. Colour effect 6 - Transparent Colour. Works best if there is a hard edge between the image and the colour background.

Cheers

Toby

SourceChild
06-11-2007, 06:34 PM
Hello all, I'm new to catalyst, and am wondering how to achieve transparency on a layer, to show the layer behind.

Hey Landy,

Color Effect 3 is Transparent Black.
Color Effect 4 is Transparent White.